Watch list roundup: Four more Miami Hurricanes honored

Watch list season is here, which means college football season is almost here. Here on this blog, we’ll keep track of the Hurricanes who are among the dozens named as potential candidates for college football’s various honors.

Next up: the Lou Groza and Ray Guy Awards, and Outland and Nagurski Trophies.

Michael Badgley celebrates his winning kick against Nebraska. (Getty Images)

Michael Badgley celebrates his winning kick against Nebraska in 2015. (Getty Images)

First awarded: 1992
For: most outstanding placekicker
Past Canes winners: none
How many on the watch list: 30
Canes on the list: Michael Badgley
Canes opponents on the list: Virginia Tech’s Joey Slye, North Carolina’s Nick Weiler, Notre Dame’s Justin Yoon.

First awarded: 2000
For: most outstanding punter
Past Canes winners: none
How many on the watch list: 28
Canes on the list: Justin Vogel
Canes opponents on the list: FAU’s Dalton Schomp, Pittsburgh’s Ryan Winslow.

First awarded: 1946
For: top interior lineman (OT, OG, C, DT)
Past Canes winners: DT Russell Maryland (1990), OT Bryant McKinnie (2001)
How many on the watch list: 70
Canes on the list: OG Danny Isidora, C Nick Linder
Canes opponents on the list: Pittsburgh OT Adam Bisnowaty and OG Dorian Johnson, Appalachian State OG Parker Collins, North Carolina OT Jon Heck, Florida State OT Roderick Johnson, Notre Dame DT Jarron Jones and OT Mike McGlinchey, Virginia Tech OG Wyatt Teller.

First awarded: 1993
For: defensive player of the year
Past Canes winners: DT Warren Sapp (1994), LB Dan Morgan (2000)
How many on the watch list:  88
Canes on the list: none 
Canes opponents on the list: Virginia DB Quin Blanding and LB Micah Kiser, Virginia Tech DE Ken Ekanem, Florida State DB Derwin James and DE DeMarcus Walker, Notre Dame DE Isaac Rochell, Pittsburgh DB Jordan Whitehead.

The List of 2016 Watch Lists 

Tues., July 5: Bednarik Award / Maxwell Award

Wed., July 6: Mackey Award / Rimington Trophy

Thurs., July 7: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award

Fri., July 8: Bronko Nagurski Trophy / Outland Trophy

Mon., July 11: Jim Thorpe Award

Tues., July 12: Butkus Award / Lombardi Award

Wed., July 13: Biletnikoff Award / Wuerffel Trophy

Thurs, July 14: Davey O’Brien Award / Doak Walker Award

Fri., July 15: Walter Camp Award / Paul Hornung Award

Reader Comments 0